ELLOREE 21: Teachers ‘changed the course of history’ in South Carolina’s civil rights movement

This photo, taken May 15, 1956, shows the 21 Elloree Training School teachers who quit their jobs rather than deny membership in the NAACP. They are Elizabeth Cleveland, Betty Smith, James Mays, Ola Bryan, Jestine DeLee, Betty C. Green, Rosa Davis, Laura Prickett, Ernestine Dawkins, Clarence Tobin, Rosa Haigler, Mary Jackson, Hattie Fulton, Robert Carmichael, Howard Shelton, Vivian Floyd, Lelia Mae Summers, Deloris Davis, Rutha Ingram, Frazier Kiett and Charles Davis.

Once slavery began in Orangeburg County, blacks had to endure a wide variety of life conditions and experiences.


Read more